Home Resources Transgender Resources Trans Resources UC Davis

Trans Resources UC Davis

Transgender Resources and Referrals

UC Davis Campus & Community
There are many resources available on and off campus at UC Davis for  the Transgender community. Here are a few to get you started:

- Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender Queer Intersex Asexual Resource Center   (LGBTQIA RC); Student Community Center; 752-2452
- Counseling and Psychological Services (CAPS)
- Student Health Services (SHS)
- Women’s Resource and Research Center (WRRC)

CAPS offers the following confidential services:
- Individual crisis and consultation appointments
- Brief individual therapy
- Psychiatric consultation and medication evaluation
- Group therapy
- Referral for long-term individual psychotherapy
- Educational programs
- Referral to and coordination of care with health providers at SHS
You can schedule an intake appointment with a counselor or we have urgent care services
available from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday-Friday at 219 North Hall. Or call 752-0871.

Student Health Services offers the following confidential services:
- Medical examination and assessment of health status
- Nutritional counseling
- Referral and coordination of care with other professionals.
- Educational programs, peer education
- SHIP insurance consultations and new Transgender care coverage: hormone
replacement coverage; referral and coverage for top and bottom surgery. To schedule an appointment with Student Health call 752-2300. Contact physician to request specific transgender health services: Dr. Michelle Famula


Women’s Resources & Research Center
- Campus outreach and programming on body image
- Campus referrals & community therapist list
- Information on “how to help a friend”
- Body image and eating disorders book lists
- Library resources & student computers
WRRC is located on the 1st floor of North Hall. Call 752-3372 or visit the website: http://wrrc.ucdavis.edu for more information.


Community Website Resources


Activism and Organizations
Transgender Law Center: www.transgenderlawcenter.org
Sylvia Rivera Law Project: www.srlp.org
Audre Lorde Project: www.alp.org
TGI Justice Project: www.tgijp.org
National Center for Transgender Equality: www.transequality.org
FTM International: www.ftmi.org
Gender Education and Advocacy: www.gender.org
GenderPAC: www.gpac.org
International Foundation for Gender Education: www.ifge.org
Intersex Society of North America: www.isna.org
Remembering our Dead: www.gender.org/remember/
The Survivor Project: www.survivorproject.org
Gendercrash: www.gendercrash.com
FORGE – For Ourselves: Reworking Gender Expression: www.forge-forward.org
Planet Out: www.planetout.com/

Medical / Transition
World Professional Association for Transgender Health or WPATH (formerly HBIGDA): www.wpath.org
Getting Real About FTM Surgery (1994): www.gender.org/vaults/getting_real.html
TGStation: www.tgstation.org
Transgender Support Site (for MTF): www.heartcorps.com/journeys
TransGender Care: www.transgendercare.com
Trans Health – Online Magazine: http://trans-health.com

Youth
Trans Youth Family Advocates: http://www.imatyfa.org
Youth MTF transition: www.tsroadmap.com/early/earlyindex.html

Families, Partners & Friends
PFLAG’s T-Net: community.pflag.org/NETCOMMUNITY/Page.aspx?pid=380&srcid=194
COLAGE (for children of trans people): www.colage.org/programs/trans/
Trans Forming Families: aiyiyi.com/transbook/

Some Trans Performers, Authors, Artists, Activists, etc.
Kate Bornstein: www.tootallblondes.com/KatePages/kate_bornstein.htm
Loren Cameron: www.lorencameron.com/home.html
Leslie Feinberg: www.transgenderwarrior.org/
Jamison Green: www.jamisongreen.com
Pauline Park: www.paulinepark.com/

Ryan Sallans: www.ryansallans.com/

 


Books

Behold the Man: The Hype and Selling of Male Beauty on Media and Culture (Haworth Gay &
Lesbian Studies) by Edisol W. Dotson

Second Son: Transitioning Toward My Destiny, Love and Life by Ryan Sallans

Looking Queer: Body Image and Identity in LGBT Communities by Dawn Atkins
Transgender Journeys by Virginia Ramey Mollenkott
GenderQueer: Voices From Beyond the Sexual Binary by Nestle, Wilchins & Howell (Eds).
Nobody Passes: Rejecting the Rules of Gender and Conformity by Sycamore (Ed).
My Gender Workbook by Kate Bornstein
The Fallacy of Assignable Gender by Bradford
Gender Outlaw by Kate Bornstein
Whipping Girl: A Transsexual Woman on Sexism and the Scapegoating of Femininity by Julia Serano
She's Not There: A Life in Two Genders, by Jennifer Finney Boylan


Other Resources
UC Davis Consultation Team for Transgender Care: A group of professionals who meet for
consultation on campus 1x monthly. Contact Jezzie Fulmen at cjfulmen@ucdavis.edu for
more information or to add agenda topics.


Make-Up and Skin Care
Johnny Nicely- a makeup artist for MAC Cosmetics, and a licensed Aesthetician for California. Specializes in teaching makeup especially transgender and/or
genderqueer. Charges $15-30 or $10 for a class fee. jandrewnicely@yahoo.com or 714-615-
2334